Mission Statement

The Biomedical (Biosciences) Association for the Interest of Minority Students (BioAIMS) is an inclusive organization that provides a welcoming home for all Biosciences students at Stanford to celebrate their identities--especially those that have traditionally been marginalized in academia.

We actively build this community through cultural celebrations, peer support, and career development programming. To address the issues facing our communities, we engage in social justice advocacy and local outreach initiatives.

Our Constitution


2017-2018 Officers

President - Carlos Medina - cmedina3@stanford.edu

Vice President - Akua Nimarko - animarko@stanford.edu

Financial Officer - Amy Fan - amyfan@stanford.edu

Communications Chair - Alex Scharr - scharr@stanford.edu

Professional Development Chair - Makenna Morck - makenna@stanford.edu

Advocacy Co-chairs - Eddy Albarran - albarran@stanford.edu & Avery Krieger - krave@stanford.edu

Outreach Co-chairs - Sergio Redondo - sredondo@stanford.edu & Matias Kaplan - mkap@stanford.edu & Lashawn Pena - lhp22@stanford.edu


2016-2017 Officers

President
Alejandro Schuler
aschuler@stanford.edu

3rd year PhD student in Biomedical Informatics

Vice President
Carlos Medina
cmedina3@stanford.edu

3rd year PhD student in Immunology

Financial Officer
Julio Flores Servin
jfloress@stanford.edu

3rd year PhD student in Biology

akua-nimarko.jpg

Secretary
Akua Nimarko
nimarko1@stanford.edu

2nd year PhD student in Neuroscience

jordan-harrison.jpg

Advocacy Chair
Jordan A. Harrison
jordanha@stanford.edu

4th year PhD student in Genetics

Advocacy Chair
Eddy Albarran
albarran@stanford.edu

3rd year PhD student in Neuroscience

Outreach Chair
Matias Kaplan
mkap@stanford.edu

2nd year PhD student in Bioengineering

sergio-redondo.jpg

Outreach Chair
Sergio Redondo
sredondo@stanford.edu

2nd year PhD student in Biology

Professional Development Chair
Cole Sitron
csitron@stanford.edu

3rd year PhD student in Biochemistry

Wellness Chair
Alex Scharr
scharr@stanford.edu

5th year PhD student in Neuroscience

Interview Weekend Chair
Tawaun Lucas
tawaun@stanford.edu

3rd year PhD student in Neuroscience

 

2015-2016 Officers

President - Miranda Stratton (mirandas@stanford.edu)

Vice President - Jesus Madrid (Jemadrid@stanford.edu)

Financial OfficersKeyla Badillo-Rivera (kbadillo@stanford.edu) & Carlos Medina (cmedina3@stanford.edu)

SecretaryKali Pruss (kmpruss@stanford.edu)

Faculty Dinner Series Chair - Fabian Ortega (fabiano@stanford.edu)

International Student Advocates - Paola Moreno-Roman (paolamr@stanford.edu) & Julio Flores-Servin (jfloress@stanford.edu) & Rafael Contreras-Lopez (rxcontre@stanford.edu)

Outreach Chairs Alan Itakura (aitakura@stanford.edu) & Ariana Sanchez (asanche1@stanford.edu)

Interview Weekend Chairs Carlos Gonzalez (carlosg2@stanford.edu) & Vivian Chen (vkchen@stanford.edu)

Advocacy & Allyship Chairs Alejandro Schuler (aschuler@stanford.edu) & Andrew McKay (amckay1@stanford.edu)

SBSA/BioAIMS LiaisonMiguel Garcia (miguelag@stanford.edu)